Hey all! I can’t believe we are already in February! January has flown by and that means we are getting closer to our first Disney Parks trip in April! Counting down the days until we will be there. In that spirit I thought it would be fun to highlight a Florida themed record from our Disney record collection. This means no other record than “The Story and Songs of The Orange Bird”. We found this in the dollar bin at our local record store and were so excited!

img_7015

The record is overall in good shape. There is some wear on the sleeve and it was clearly written on by a child, but otherwise the record itself is in surprisingly good shape for something that was clearly played with by a child. It is a unique record as it comes with a story book that you can read along with, but unfortunately we are missing most of the pages. As the cover indicates it comes with a storybook inside that you can read along with as Anita Bryant sings and narrates the story. She was a singer and actress during the 50’s and 60’s and in 1969 became the spokeswoman for the Florida Citrus Commission(FCC). Then in 1970 the Orange Bird was created by Disney as the mascot for the Commission in exchange for their sponsorship of the Florida Citrus Sunshine Pavilion which housed the Sunshine Tree Terrace and the Enchanted Tiki Room at Walt Disney World.

The record includes the story and several great songs with Music and Lyrics by the good ol’ Sherman brothers! It is definitely enjoyable to listen to, but I think my favorite part is the back cover. I love the art showing the monorail and the resorts. Just a very cool and retro feeling all around!

img_7014

Now that you have seen the front and back, here is what the inside looks like:

img_6998img_6999img_7000

img_7001

Definitely a beautifully illustrated book on the inside of this record and I am still on the lookout for a complete version.

I also wanted to share some random shots I took while just having fun listening to the record:

img_7008

 

img_7032

This is my turntable.

img_7029

This is my receiver that controls the whole system. I got the whole thing from my father-in-law and it is still in great shape and has great sound quality. I love it!

 

img_7024img_7025

Last and definitely not least I am sure you would like to listen to it! Luckily I found a video on YouTube that not only plays the record but shows every page from the book as it is read by the narrator. Give it a listen here. (Just to be clear, I have no connection to this channel and only found it though a quick Google search). Well that is all for now!

I hope you found something you enjoyed!

Brian

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

